Staying at the Red Feather Inn allowed us to explore the Grand Canyon area for another half day before heading to our next destination. It was just as exciting the second day. It was just a lot more crowded. I don’t know if it makes a difference but try to visit on a week day. 

Because I didn’t want to miss out on anything, today we drove to the part of the park where you and hundreds of other folks, mostly foreign visitors, can hop on and off shuttle busses. It was great to stand up in the aisle and hold on for your life because no one wants to wait for the next shuttle. The seats in the front are designated for disabled folks and seniors. I almost started an international incident by asking some young guys to give up those seats but thought better of it. I’ve heard of people getting bumped off the viewing areas so I decided to keep quiet, hold on tight, and pretend I was on the subway.


There is a little cafe at the other end of the rim at Desert View area where we watched the sun set last night. We had lunch there and looked around some more before heading out of the park at 3:00. As I mentioned we were heading to Cortez, Colorado to see Mesa Verde. It is cliff dwellings of the Anasazi and more than 500 prehistoric sites dating from AD550 to 1300. Tomorrow I will know more about it.

The drive to Cortez is stunning. It is the Arizona you have heard about and seen in pictures but only better. I don’t know what jobs people have in those desolate areas but I know they wake up every morning and go to bed every night blessed that they live in such beauty. I took car shots because we were trying to get to Cortez before dark.



The famous Four Corners was right on our way. That’s where Arizona, New Mexico, Colorado, and Utah meet. How exciting until you arrive 30 minutes after the gates are closed for the night. That barb wire kept us and another couple out but we did take a photo of the unimpressive sign.


The sun set and it was beautiful. The colors of my photo don’t do it justice.  Joe drove quite a way in the twilight and then darkness but we arrived in one piece and are having a relaxing evening planning our excursion to Mesa Verde.

